RSS RSS Subscribe

Category: Internet & Networking

Does YouTube Falsify Views?

By , February 7, 2012 09:05
Hot:

For the record I’m a big fan of YouTube. I spend far too much of my free time loving all those viral videos, as well as some of the funnier stuff and of course many others who have great videos about the latest geek gizmo or other such interesting distractions.
However, its when I see such oddness that I have to ask. I was visiting FPSRussia after receiving an G+ notice that a new video was up, so I went to watch it Here. After I noticed the Like/Disklike numbers were a bit skewed. See this picture:
Youtube views
Don’t get me wrong I’m a big fan of FPSRussia and his gun shooting, and I’m sure eventually his video would garner this level of likes. My question is about how this was achieved from such a small viewing quantity. Youtube in it’s greatness was unable to answer my question, so until it happens to me personally I guess it will remain a mystery. If anyone out there has an answer feel free to post it or link to this article with your explanation.

DiggRedditRead It LaterGoogle ReaderYahoo MailSlashdotWordPressIdenti.caStumbleUponMySpaceLinkedInDeliciousLiveJournalHotmailAsk.com MyStuffBlogger PostBookmark/FavoritesGoogle BookmarksFacebookTwitterOrkutShare

Google notify not working?

By , January 13, 2009 14:03
Hot:

Are you one of the folks who has an Google email account? They are not hard to find, and very easy to get and many folks find it very handy. But for most Windows users, trying to adopt a webmail-like email such as GMAIL in place of typical clients like Outlook Express can have some problems.

Enter Google Notify. Its a great little tool that simply monitors calls to email and redirects them to your Gmail account. No more clicking on email links on web pages and getting outlook express popping up. Now the request generates a gmail compose message and seems to work very well. It will also tell you when you have new mail!

What if it doesn’t work?

Continue reading 'Google notify not working?'»

DiggRedditRead It LaterGoogle ReaderYahoo MailSlashdotWordPressIdenti.caStumbleUponMySpaceLinkedInDeliciousLiveJournalHotmailAsk.com MyStuffBlogger PostBookmark/FavoritesGoogle BookmarksFacebookTwitterOrkutShare

Blog Spammers – NetCatHosting #1 Spammer Sept/07

comments Comments Off
By , October 17, 2007 13:40
Hot:

If you have a web site, chances are you deal with spam in some way. It’s become reality in the last couple years and dealing with it can be either finicky and time consuming or you spend very little time with it, thanks to effective solutions.

Here we get lots of spam even though the traffic here doesn’t warrant it. 90% of the visitors here are bots and only about 2% of those are spammers.

We have a great system for dealing with spam and so far we’ve had great success with it. No spam has been posted on this site that had to be manually removed. However we get an endless number of attempts.

One IP 195.225.177.190 has been particularly mindless in their attempt to spam our site got up to 10 to 15 attempts per day. During the latter part of September 2007, this ONE BOT generated over 100 attempts.

This is the detail of the identified spammer.

10/17/07 11:25:56 whois 195.225.177.190@whois.geektools.com

whois -h whois.geektools.com 195.225.177.190 …

GeekTools Whois Proxy v5.0.4 Ready.

Final results obtained from whois.ripe.net.

Results:

% This is the RIPE Whois query server #1.

% The objects are in RPSL format.

%

% Rights restricted by copyright.

%
See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html

% Note: This output has been filtered.

% To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag.

% Information related to ’195.225.176.0 – 195.225.179.255′

inetnum: 195.225.176.0 – 195.225.179.255

netname: NETCATHOST

descr: NetcatHosting

country: PA

admin-c: VR1273-RIPE

tech-c: VR1273-RIPE

status: ASSIGNED PI

mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-HM-PI-MNT

mnt-lower: RIPE-NCC-HM-PI-MNT

mnt-by: NETCATHOST-MNT

mnt-routes: NETCATHOST-MNT

mnt-routes: WZNET-MNT

source: RIPE # Filtered

remarks: ***************************************

remarks: * Abuse contacts: abuse@netcathost.com *

remarks: ***************************************

person: Vladislav Radchek

address: IBC Tower Floor 9 PO Box 901-2389

address: Manuel Espinosa Batista Avenue

phone: +372 7121250

nic-hdl: VR1273-RIPE

source: RIPE # Filtered

% Information related to ’195.225.176.0/22AS31159′

route: 195.225.176.0/22

descr: NETCATHOST (full block)

mnt-routes: WZNET-MNT

mnt-routes: NETCATHOST-MNT

origin: AS31159

mnt-by: NETCATHOST-MNT

remarks: ****************************************

remarks: * Abuse contacts: abuse@netcathost.com *

remarks: ****************************************

source: RIPE # Filtered

% Information related to ’195.225.177.190/32AS31159′

route: 195.225.177.190/32

descr: Mark Stosberg

origin: AS31159

mnt-by: NETCATHOST-MNT

source: RIPE # Filtered

remarks: *******************************

* Mark Stosberg *

* +1 (202) 657-5440 *

* US, 47374, Indiana *

* Richmond, 914 E Main St *

****** Send abuse to: *********

* abuse@myfreepages.org *

*******************************

Results brought to you by the GeekTools WHOIS Proxy

Server results may be copyrighted and are used with permission.’,'This IP is part of the NETCATHOST.COM Domain and is a Web hosting provider. Two IP’s in this block were attributed in the spamming the one noted above and this one 195.225.176.177. This is a RIPE address space from the looks of it being used by an ISP in Europe and further used by this American either intentionally or otherwise. Given it’s a web hosting account I’d say the server has been compromised.

It was interesting that while these bots were spamming me, I received no other spam attempts. [well there were two] Once I blocked this IP block from accessing my site, the other bots started up again. Most curious.

I still average about 3 spam attempts per day and depending on the success of this article I may post further major spammers in the coming months.

DiggRedditRead It LaterGoogle ReaderYahoo MailSlashdotWordPressIdenti.caStumbleUponMySpaceLinkedInDeliciousLiveJournalHotmailAsk.com MyStuffBlogger PostBookmark/FavoritesGoogle BookmarksFacebookTwitterOrkutShare

Theme by Themocracy